College Hockey At Its Finest! The Boston Beanpot Tournament!

While Clarendon Square tries to offer a peaceful and relaxing oasis for guests visiting Boston, nothing quite says Boston like an old-fashioned hockey tournament. The Boston Beanpot Tournament takes places at the TD Garden just outside the
North End and features the all star hockey teams of Boston College, Boston University, Harvard University and Northeastern University.

This hockey tournament has been a Boston tradition and celebrated its 60th anniversary last year with The Boston College Eagles defeating the Boston University Terriers 3-2 in overtime. Recently, women’s college hockey has also been included in the Beanpot Tournament. Boston University has won more Beanpot championships than any other team with nearly 30 wins over the last 60 years, but Boston College has been creeping up and has won the last three years. While the NHL lockout has finally ended, the skill and intensity in these games will rival any professional team in the league. Players from these prestigious schools often go on to play professionally and continue to set the standard for outstanding student athletes. Matt Gilroy and Chris Drury, both BU Terrier captains went on to win the Hobey Baker award, college hockey’s MVP, and were then drafted into the NHL. Chris Drury was in the NHL for over ten years and ended his career as captain of the Original Six team: the New York Rangers. Mike Mottau, a Boston College Eagle, also won the Hobey Baker award in 2000 and is now a member of the Boston Bruin’s hockey club.

Ticket information as well as dates can be found here. The TD Garden is an easy commute from the Inn on the Orange T line. After your night of nail biting excitement, come back to the south end and relax in our rooftop hot tub, the perfect way to end a night of exciting college

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *